Skip to main content

FOR THE LOVE OF FILM


This beauty is Erick's Bronica.  I've been taking photos here and there but don't have too much experience with 120 film yet.  I'm curious as to how other film photographers-- Becka?  Ryan? -- how long of an ordeal is it to not only getting your film developed professionally but scanned in for use on the web?  I don't have my own negative scanner and it just seems like a long process.  Is it worth it?  I feel like it is, I know I can't pull myself away from the tugs of beautiful film portraits.  Do any of you readers every shot or experimented with film photography?  I'll tell you- there is nothing like popping in some Kodak Portra 400 and seeing what you end up with.  That's really the fun in it, you know?  The waiting, the excitment... learning a little patience in this instant-gratification world.

Comments

  1. My husband and I inherited an old Leica from my Grandpa this year. We've not finished up the first roll of film we put in it yet, but we can't wait to see how it turns out! We purchased a 35mm negative scanner oniine: http://www.amazon.com/OMNI-Stand-Alone-Image-Slide-Scanner/dp/B0046TBJEM

    It's nice because you can feed the film through one side and "advance" it using a knob out the other side. Most other affordable scanners we looked at had to be cut down strips of negatives, but this one lets you use full rolls of exposed film. The only down side is that it scans it in at 4x3, so to fit the whole image you'll have to scan it twice and stitch them together in photoshop. But if you just want to quickly take preview scans of everything, then you can choose which photos to go back and scan twice.

    Sorry for the long explanation! We're excited to see what kind of photos come out of that amazing looking camera!

    ReplyDelete
  2. It's not that big of an ordeal if you can find a local lab. We have one in Orlando that is pretty good and develops medium format film. They also scan it if you want but Nate and I have a scanner so we can do it ourself from the negatives if we want.

    If you don't have a nearby lab you should look into Richard Photo Lab. They are one of the best in the country and (while pricey) they do a really great job and you can ship your film to them and they'll send you an ftp link of your scans which is fun because you can see them before you get your physical prints/negatives back. :)

    Hope that helps! Happy medium format shooting!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Easter Weekend

Hello! Happy mid-week to you. This is the roll of photos we shot over our Easter weekend , and oh what a wonderful weekend it was. It was so nice to have family here to visit - even if the weather was cooler than we anticipated! We visited the redwoods in Felton, ate vegetarian burritos, went to the epic shoreside in Montara, and the brewing company in Half Moon Bay. Our hearts are full and our home is feeling quite empty now ;) As a side note, I've found a renewed love with film. This is a post for another time, but it bears mentioning here! There has been much on my mind re: photography, and hopefully this will be the space I can share that. For the curious, all the above were shot on a Nikon FM10 with Fuji Superia 400 speed film.

what sofia eats, v.1

      grape tomatoes, avocado, grilled veggie burger and annie's cheddar bunnies             green seedless grapes with pancakes             cheddar potato pierogis, tangerine slices, garlic pearled couscous with corn           Diapers & Skinny Jeans will be slowly introducing more and more new, original content over the next coming weeks, and I'm excited to announce I'm bringing back the "What Sofia Eats" portion of the blog to you.  (Especially since it doesn't consist of rice cereal and mashed bananas anymore!)  Since I started a bit late, I only have three meals to show you this week-- but, I'm hoping to catch every meal for the next seven days.  I know I've personally struggled at times with finding inspiration for kiddo meals, so I figure if anyone else out there has run into a similar problem, hopefully these meals can give y...

Hello, It's Me

* screeeeeeech.... opens door * Hello? Are you in there? I'm baaaaaaack! Holy shnikeys! It's only been a good two years or so. Talk about a blogging hiatus. So, after many many failed attempts at fancy Squarespace sites and having absolutely zero direction on which way I wanted to go, I found myself right back here. Good 'ol blogger. Good 'ol free simple template. Good 'ol feed with all my old friends. It's been a long, long time. And it feels weird! But I'm dusting off the cobwebs anyway and just writing because I need to. Plain and simple. Now, a few things-- the blog title is a bit different. My kiddos are nearly three and five years old so diapers [thankfully] are a thing of the past. Hallelujah! And if you haven't heard, folks, skinny jeans are out. They're done! Bring on the bellbottoms, culottes and 90's fashion revival. You heard it here first, everyone. Just wait.  Also. Growing up. I kinda laugh at how much...